First Time DUI Punishments
In Georgia, the law outlines what the punishments are for various offenses. Some statutes only mention fines and length of sentence, while other laws give clear outlines of what someone can expect if they are found guilty. Driving Under the Influence, or more commonly DUI, is an offense where the punishments are very clear.
If someone is convicted of DUI for the first time in their life they can expect the following consequences: a fine between $300 and $1,000, a sentence of a minimum 12 months with at least 24 hours to serve in jail, at least 40 hours of community service, completion of a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program, a clinical evaluation to see if there is substance abuse or dependence, any counseling in accordance with the results of this evaluation, and a suspension of their driver's license. In some instances a person may only have 10 business days from the date of arrest to prevent an administrative suspension of their driver's license!
These are the minimum punishments. Depending on a person's blood-alcohol content, any other charges they have along with the DUI, and their criminal history, the punishments may be even greater than outlined above. Pleading 'nolo' will not result in someone getting a lighter or better sentence for DUI. A person can even be convicted of DUI if they are operating a boat, a bike, or other motorized vehicle.
Georgia law gives a clear outline of what someone can expect if they are convicted for Driving Under the Influence. A skilled lawyer can help you by protecting your rights each step of the way. The attorneys at Spence & McPeek, LLC have handled countless DUI cases at all stages from administrative license suspensions hearings to trial. If you or someone you know is charged with DUI, please call the attorneys at Spence & McPeek a call at 404-236-6060 to discuss the case today.